On the fourth, my head was an itchy mess from all the shea butter I had put it through, so I wanted to wash it. Also, I was curious about clarifers because I had never clarified my hair before! There are a couple ways to do it homemade, but I found a recepie I thought I could handle, and it also has a couple other homemade recipes.

The recipe for Clarifying Hair is:

  • 1 cup of water
  • 1 ounce ( 1/8 cup or 30ml) of apple cider vinegar
  • 1.5 ounces (45ml) of lemon juice (My best estimate for the juice of half a lemon)

I also added a half a teaspoon (2.5 ml) of tea tree oil, because I read somewhere it was good for hair clarifying.


Because most sites advised using it on clean hair, I shampoo’d first, then rubbed the
clarifying liquid into my hair. I advise getting a flip-top container so you can control
better where the liquid goes. After that, you rinse it out. My hair seemed to like it (my eyes didn’t):


I then saturated my hair with conditioner and like normal, left it in for 30 minutes (which
turned into an hour due to…let’s say delays. ;D). After I washed and towel-dried it, I
got a more typical curl pattern from my hair than after I tried the Reconstructor a few
days ago:

<Clarified

Reconstructed>

Final Verdict?: I have to say….My hair feels very soft and clean! Plain shampoo doesn’t
seem to get it this clean at all. The smell of vinegar was a huge turn-off to me, but the
results are nice enough that I’m going to have to add clarifying to my normal routine. Most
sites I’ve read suggest every 4-9 weeks.

Now, I’m going to moisturize it, cover it up, and get some sleep!

Edit: In case you don’t know what the purpose of clarifying is, check out on ehow here. In a nutshell, It is for cleaning toxins and remaining residue of products that you use from your hair.

