Is your hair dry and breaking off? Hot oil treatments don’t work for you? Ready to CUT IT ALL OFF? Well try SUPER-CONDITIONING!!!
(Please Note: I don’t know if this is a good idea, this is just what I do to myself occasionally)

You’ll need:

  • Conditioner
  • Conditioning Shower Cap (or a regular one)
  • Towel

It’s very easy! I recommend doing this at night. Start off with freshly washed or co-washed hair, still damp, and use your favorite conditioner of the moment (Still Suave Professionals for me) to saturate your hair. You can add a little oil if you want. It should look like this, but it can’t hurt to get even worse than that! Or it can. I don’t know. 🙂

Next, pop on the conditioning cap, making sure all your hair is under it (Duh.) I use this shiny silver one that holds heat, but I’m sure a regular shower cap will work just fine. To reduce slippage and attempt to reduce the crinkling noise the shower cap makes, I add a satin bonnet [not pictured, I know you have one].

If you do this at night, like I suggested, or even during the day if you have time to walk around with a crazy concoction on your head, wrap your head in a towel to keep it from dripping while you sleep, walk, do chores, etc. just leave it on for hours and hours. Oh and don’t go out of the house like this. I’ll make fun of you.

That’s all it takes! My hair always becomes softer and curlier, and it’s a low maintenance way to deep condition.

Warnings: The environment you’re creating in your hair is very ideal for bacteria, mold, etc. I wouldn’t leave it in for more than a good night’s sleep (8-10 hours), and it is very important to start with clean hair and clean it again with SHAMPOO (preferably a moisturizing one) when you wake up. My head is frequently itchy when I wake up from doing this, but my head is usually itchy, so I’m used to it and I don’t know if there’s a problem. Let me know how this works for you!

Also, please welcome Jasmine, our third author who put up her first post on Sunday! I’m sure her contribution will be invaluable.

 

